Books, Uncategorized

A truth universally acknowledged….

That a summer of Austen is just what the doctor ordered.

This year, I took part in the 5th grade 40 book challenge. This is a school year long challenge wherein 5th graders are challenged to read 40 grade level or challenging books across a variety of genres.

I have loved this challenge even though I’ve only managed to get 25 books under my belt – my choices did tend to exceed 600 pages or so, therefore, that number isn’t shocking.

I have completed series started a decade ago, fallen in love withnew authors, and revisited books I’d rushed through before but have now learned to really appreciate.

It’s been absolutely amazing.

But now I’m looking forward and planning an equally daunting but less page heavy book nerd challenge: a summer of Austen.

My recent trip up north had me wandering bookstores and in one I found a copy of The Jane Austen Book Club by Karen Joy Fowler and couldn’t stop myself from buying it.

Therefore, it is going to be the start of my summer book challenge; reading all of Austen.

For the sake of my starter novel, I’ll most likely go in the order that the book club read unless I’m persuaded otherwise.

While I have read Pride and Prejudice in high school – including tutoring a friend on the novel – I fell victim to the density of Mansfield Park and stopped. Since then, I’ve discovered webseries which make me hopeful that I’ll manage to complete another attempt.

Speaking of, I’ll probably be watching everything Austen I can get my hands on – film, web and miniseries adaptations, everything, not to mention rounding out with some adaptation novels.

If anyone is interested in this challenge or has any advice, let me know! I am also down to send you my suggestions on best adaptations – seriously, transmedia webseries! I did my dissertation on these and they are amazing!

But for now, read on booknerds!

  • Taylor Gallagher
Standard

One thought on “A truth universally acknowledged….

  1. I’m currently reading Sense and Sensibility! I’ve read Pride & Prejudice and Persuasion before. It took me a little while to get into S&S but I’m doing okay with it now. Part of me wants to finish I ASAP just so I can read the parody: Sense and Sensibility and Sea-Monsters! 😊

Leave a Reply

