Uncategorized

Updating My Merrells

3004553-p-4x

I’ve talked quite a lot about my running. In fact, it seems to be one of the things that I have managed to keep consistent in my life. My father and I have upped our running to four runs a week and going further and further distances – I would never have thought when I started running that I would manage to run 8 miles in an hour and a half even on relatively flat lands.

I’ve been running in Merrell minimalist shoes for the past year or two (I really don’t remember when I bought the pair I’ve been running in – before or mid London) and I have worn them thin. I was looking at them tonight and noticed letter impressions on the flat, worn out sections of the tread, they are so worn down.

My first pair of Merrells were Bare Access trail runners though the style my dad helped me pick out were really for street running over dirt. Since buying these however this particular style has moved on to the ‘Arc 4’ for trail running. This design has more padding especially in the heal which hasn’t stopped them from being minimalist but definitely have a heftier feel.

Instead of purchasing the Bare Access, I opted to switch over to The Merrell Pace Glove 3. The Pace Glove is a cross-training shoe which has the lightness of my older shoe which I just wasn’t getting from the Arc 4.

If you haven’t ever run in minimalist shoes, I have to tell you that it will feel different. The whole process is meant to train your body to run naturally. The theory behind wearing minimalist or barefoot shoes is that traditional running styles change the way you run in three areas: creating an unnatural posture out of normal alignment, creating an inefficient stride, and increasing the stressful impacts on your heal strikes. In minimalist shoes, you are supposed to land midfoot which corrects all of the usual issues with running shoes.

Because of these changes, your legs will be soar in the new conditions but I have been able to adapt my run and am running more, harder and faster than I ever could have imagined. Oh, and just for a style hint, I love the design of the Pace Glove and my pair is black netting with black rubber which has a nice gloss that reminds me of leather detailing. So yes, they are cute, functional and I can’t wait to take them out for their first run (after my 8 mile send off for the old Bare Access pair).

But that’s all for me, run safe, run well, and I will see you next week!

  • Taylor Gallagher
Standard

Leave a Reply

