Fashion, Uncategorized

Do or Don’t: Cat Ear Headbands.

Throughout this school year – and more and more surrounding Halloween – varying designs of cat ear headbands have been popping up all over the school yard. While our old principal would never had allowed it, the current standing around school is a simple ‘if you are not distracting yourself or others, wear your headband and enjoy. Every time I see the girls running around with these headbands, I can’t help but smile; they are running around and having fun and it simple makes my day.

This week, one girl who I had complemented on her bejeweled ears suggested that I get a pair. I laughed and let her know that at 25 I wasn’t sure that was exactly in my range of acceptable headgear. Of course, she came back saying people my age – Taylor Swift and Ariana Grande – wear them and since I look young anyway, I should just do it. Now, first mentioning that I am not a famous musician, am looking for a job not at the school, and really don’t need help looking young – I will be carded forever! – I sent her out to play.

However, this has cause me to wonder: at what point so we stop wearing this kind of stuff?

Of course, the answer is changing – these eccentric additions to wardrobes of all types is growing. Each person has to choose what they can handle based on their lifestyles, career, as well as many other personal factors.

For me, I am 25 years old, regularly get mistaken for a teenager, am looking for work on a more corporate environment (like in marketing), and generally move from preppy posh to casual jeans and t-shirts.

I am kind of in love with the cat ear bowler hat that were all over the place last year but I don’t think that I’d be able to do your cat ear headband for anything other than a costume.

Still if you want to look at a few options in headbands here are a few (1, 2, 3, 4) and let me know, where do you stand on the cat headband (or cat fashion as a whole!) trend? Where do you draw the line?

  • Taylor Gallagher
Standard

Leave a Reply

