Books, Uncategorized

Zombies, Run! The Book!

51oau13ciglI am so excited to finally have this! I know I’ve been talking off and on about the Zombie, Run! app and it’s running program, and if you have been reading along, you know that I am hooked.

This month, however, I have been swamped – between working, photo trips, events (and meetings to plan upcoming events), and holiday stuff – so I haven’t really had any time to keep up with my running (the time change and  it getting so dark so early hasn’t helped this problem either).

For this reason, I’ve been finding as many other kinds of work outs that I can do on the run (as it were). Seriously, start pinning female superhero workouts, super fun and nerdy but at the same time they actually do a good job of working you out. As a SCA member with a Viking persona, the shieldmaiden workout (by Neila Rey) has a very special place in my heart.

And on the topic of nerdy workouts, finally getting to look (and laugh) through my copy of Zombies, Run! Keeping Fit and Living Well in the Current Zombie Emergency by Naomi Alderman and Six to Start (the team behind the Zombie, Run! program). What I love about this book is how it really mashes up everything that is great about the app but works alongside it as a supplement.

The whole point of this program – both the app and the book – is too have fun while working out and challenging yourself, and the book is such a great addition to help you with that goal. I was absolutely cracking up skimming through and looking at all the makeshift weapons fashioned for the apocalypse – not to mention the walk through of practicing your spear work with a friend and a marker-tipped broomstick!

I’m sharing this book with my dad which means I’ll be using post-its over the given spaces, however, I love that you get spaces to mark your progress and notes.

I’m not going to give too many things away – I promise the book is worth getting! – but I do want to finish up by mentioning one strategy I never thought about: in a zombie apocalypse you shouldn’t spend more than 10 minutes in a place like a grocery store (too many places for crawlers and the like to hide); if you are trying to shop better (less junk food), limiting your rime here can be a good idea as well. If you give yourself less browsing time in the food section, you are a lot less likely to pick up all the junk food a hungry roamer may grab on a whim.

So that’s it! Have fun, get fit, and don’t get turned into a zombie!

  • Taylor Gallagher
Standard

Leave a Reply

