Uncategorized

Bought / Made ‘Spa’ Gifts for the Ladies in your Life.

It’s getting to Christmas which for many of us means cracking your wallet and separating from some (or a lot!) of your hard earned cash. As I am mostly unemployed so paychecks are few and far between, this is a tough time of the year – do I cash in on presents or extra loan payments?

Luckily, even though I have a lot of people in my life (most of whom are women), most have either given me simple tasks, like going out with grandma to plays or picking out pictures to hang in my parents hall to update the hall for my mom,  or have set up a ‘no money, no presents’.

Still, I love the giving part of this holiday so if I can find some easy and cheap ways of putting together some gifts that my loved ones will actually want and use.

1. Store bought leave-in conditioner for my sister. I’ve been using mine once every week to two weeks and I have seen my hair bounce back from some sun damage. My sister is a new mom with little to no time on her hands and she uses a lot more products and tools on said hair. This means it’s a mess that’s lucky to get a good brushing on bad days and gets the full product treatment when she does get to go out. Giving her a five minute leave-in conditioner allows her to take a little extra time to herself while making her morning routine easier in the long run.

2. Making Bath Bombs! I have seen these popping up all over my Pintrest and I love the idea of making these as Christmas gifts. These can be cheap since you can make a good deal of these from cheap drugstore ingredients. There are a lot of recipes out there that are geared toward different ailments – dry skin, congestion, relaxation, ect. One thing I do have to stress: Be very careful about sugar based ingredients. If you are soaking in a bath, water isn’t just around you but in you, therefore, the sugar in the water will also get into you. the result? potential yeast infections all around.

3. If the fizzy bombs are too complex for you or just don’t seem to work, think Bath Salts (but not the drug kind). Again watch out for your sugar – these have a salt base which is great for soaking in. again, you can add herbs, flowers, or oils to create smells and there are plenty of ways to add in funky colors. Remember, this is a salt mixture, not a scrub so you want to keep everything pretty dry so you aren’t dropping giant, hard clumps that don’t dissolve into your bath.

4. If you know your a bit heavier handed, go with sugar scrubs. Sugar and coffee ground scrubs are great at removing dead skin cells while soothing your skin with any oil bases you add to your mixture – I use these before shavings to get the closest shave possible. My favorite has probably been coffee grounds – when they hit the hot water of a shower, you get an instant wake up scent. Again, just be careful to keep your sugar scrubs away from sensitive areas – this time less for infections reasons but more irritation – scrubs can be irritating if overused and/or on skin it shouldn’t be near (like your face!). If you make this a thicker recipe with a body butter/lotion mix, you can set this as a foot scrub.

Again, my list isn’t long this year and each of these homemade recipes can be stretched across multiple people. These are easy to make and everyone can use them; plus, the extras you can keep for yourself!

Have a merry holiday and if you have to order anything, do it quickly because things will be getting busy!

  • Taylor Gallagher
Standard

Leave a Reply

